Press Release

Nithin scorches Balewadi track to win fastest lad title in KIYG 2019

Pune, Jan 11: Bespectacled Balakumar Nithin (Tamil Nadu) set the KIYG track alight at the Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex athletics stadium with a personal best-equalling 100m dash in the boys Under-21 category, gaining the decisive lead over the final few strides here on Friday night.

Nithin clocked 10.76 seconds, the same as when he took bronze at the All-India Inter-Universities Championship in Moodbidri and raised his right arm aloft, aware that he had sealed what seemed like an improbable win after 70m. A sluggish start saw him trailing badly but the Chennai-based 19-year-old was eventually a comfortable winner.

The line-up at the start was formidable since it included national junior champion Ajith Kumar and silver medallist M. Karthikeyan, Nithin's State-mates, and bronze medallist Nevil Francis Fernandez of Kerala. None of them was among the medals tonight.

Four other runners dipped in under 11 seconds in what was a fast race. Karnataka's Prajwal Mandana lost the lead and earned silver, one-tenth of a second behind Nithin. The Mohammed Riaz-trained sprinter drew satisfaction from the victory. His time here was faster than Ajith Kumar's winning time of 10.84 seconds in the National meet in Ranchi.

The bustling Nisar Ahmed, who was persuaded by his coach Sunita Rai to compete here despite being in off-season training, won the Under-17 sprint in a slowish 10.96 that led a Delhi 1-2 with Anshul taking silver ahead of Andhra Pradesh's Bharat Yadav.

Karnataka's A.T. Daneshwari beat Maddali Supriya yet again for the title of the fastest girls Under-21 athlete here. She had secured a win in the National Junior Athletics Championships in Ranchi by a 0.16 second margin. Daneshwari's time of 11.99 seconds tonight was slower than in the November final but the gap was wider this time.

Maharashtra's Sudeshna Shivankar claimed gold in 12.48 seconds in the girls Under-17 100m final on a night that saw the four sprint golds head to different States.

Sudeshna's gold came as a consolation for the home State after its premier Under-17 sprinter Avanitka Narale was credited with a DNF (Did Not Finish) in the semi-final heats on Thursday.

The results (finals):

Boys under-21

100m: 1. B Nithin (Tamil Nadu) 10.76 seconds; 2. Prajwal Mandana (Karnataka) 10.86; 3. Kiran Bhosale (Maharashtra) 10.90.

400m: 1. Adesh Garsa (Maharashtra) 48.74; Srikanth Dhanavath (Telangana) 49.72; 3. Akash Dubey (Madhya Pradesh) 49.83.

5000m: 1. Ajeet Kumar Yadav (Gujarat) 14:54.66; 2. Bahadur Patel (Madhya Pradesh) 15:05.53; Ravi Dahiya (Haryana) 15:05.83.

110m hurdles: 1. Alden Noronha (Maharashtra) 14.10 seconds; 2. Mohammed Fais Chalil (Kerala) 14.11; 3. Abhishek Ubhe (Maharashtra) 14.32.

4x100m relay: 1. Kerala 41.77; 2. Tamil Nadu 42.01; 3. Maharashtra 42.79.

High jump: 1. Gurjeet Singh (Haryana) 2.07m; 2. Kaustubha Jaiswal (Madhya Pradesh) 2.01; 3. Mandeep Nain (Haryana) 2.01.

Javelin throw: 1. Manu Prakash (Karnataka) 67.84m; 2. Vijay Lakra (Jharkhand) 67.78m; 3. Arshdeep Singh (Punjab) 67.26.

Girls under-21

100m: 1. AT Daneshwari (Karnataka) 11.99 seconds; 2. Maddali Surpriya (Andhra Pradesh) 12.26; 3. Rashmi Sheregar (Maharashtra) 12.27.

400m: 1. Subha Venkatesan (Tamil Nadu) 55.54 seconds; 2. Florence Barla (Jharkhand) 55.74; 3. Manisha Kushwaha (Uttar Pradesh) 56.40.

5000m: 1. Poonam Sonune (Maharashtra) 17:51.00; 2. Suman Rani (Punjab) 18:07.87; 3. Chatru Gumnaram (Rajasthan) 18:12.24.

100m hurdles: 1. Aparna Roy (Kerala) 14.25 seconds; 2. Pragyan Prashant Sahu (Odisha) 14.38; 3. Nandhini Kongan (Tamil Nadu)

4x100m relay: 1. Maharashtra 47.22 seconds; 2. Kerala 47.29; 3. Tamil Nadu 47.87.

Pole vault: 1. Pavithra (Tamil Nadu) 3.60m; 2. Divya Mohan (Kerala) 3.40; 3. Arsha Abraham (Kerala) 3.30.

Hammer throw: 1. Varsha Kumar (Delhi) 49.40m; 2. Sneha Jadhav (Maharashtra) 46.98; 3. Aishwarya (Haryana) 46.43.

Boys under-17

100m: 1. Nisar Ahmed (Delhi) 10.96 seconds; 2. Anshul (Delhi) 11.07; 3. Bharat Yadav (Andhra Pradesh) 11.10.

400m: 1. CR Abdul Razzak (Kerala) 48.34 seconds; 2. Rinee Joseph (Karnataka) 48.67; 3. Ram Chandra Sanga (Jharkhand) 49.53.

110m hurdles: 1. Ritesh Choudhary (Delhi) 14.38 seconds; 2. Tejas Ashok Shirse (Maharashtra) 14.48; 3. Dibyasundar Das (Bengal) 14.59.

4x100m relay: 1. Kerala 43.21 seconds; 2. Tamil Nadu 44.37; 3. Maharashtra 44.80.

Triple jump: 1. P Asadullah Mujahith (Tamil Nadu) 14.98m; M Donald (Tamil Nadu) 14.60; 3. Napinder Singh (Punjab) 14.55.

Discus throw: 1. Ashish Kumar (Uttar Pradesh) 52.45m; 2. Harish Kumar (Uttar Pradesh) 52.10; 3. Arvind Sharma (Uttar Pradesh) 51.84.

Girls under-17

100m: 1. Sudeshna Shivankar (Maharashtra) 12.48 seconds; 2. Jeevanji Deepthi (Telangana) 12.54; 3. Ann Rose Tomy (Kerala) 12.72.

400m: 1. Sandra AS (Kerala) 57.13 seconds; 2. Gowri Nandana (Kerala) 57.42; 3. Priscilla Daniel (Kerala) 58.34.

3000m: 1. Ankita (Uttarakhand) 10:03.25; 2. Sumitra (Rajasthan) 10:04.30; 3. Bushra Gauri (Madhya Pradesh) 10:13.65.

100m hurdles: 1. Thabitha PM (Tamil Nadu) 14.14 seconds; 2. Pranjali Patil (Maharashtra) 14.49; 3. Ann Rose Tomy (Kerala) 14.56.

4x100m relay: 1. Maharashtra 48.31 seconds; 2. Kerala 48.61; 3. Tamil Nadu 51.36.

Long jump: 1. Ambrika Narzary (Assam) 5.73m; 2. Thabitha PM (Tamil Nadu) 5.57; 3. Anu Mathew (Kerala) 5.38.

Shot put: 1. Jasmine Kaur (Punjab) 14.19m; 2. Kavita Kumari (Rajasthan) 14.05; 3. Sharmila Muruganatham (Tamil Nadu) 13.50.